Rich has a tumor

It all began about 6 weeks ago, when Rich began to feel pain in his side and back. Doctors treated him for an infection; for acid reflux, and discovered he had a hernia. On Tuesday, April 28, 2009, Rich had searing pain in his abdomen. Thinking there was a complication with his hernia, he took an ambulance ride down to Kaiser Fresno ER. The ER doctor did a CT Scan to make sure there weren’t kidney stones. That’s when we discovered that the pain Rich had been experiencing wasn’t because of the hernia, nor kidney stones.

He has a 10cm mass (tumor) next to his right kidney, near his spine. Due to the location, and his age, the Urologist on call said that it is “almost definitely” cancer, and that it’s “not good.”

You see moments like this in movies. You fear them happening in real life. And there, I watched it play out in astoundingly simple terms: Cancer; a 10cm mass; you will have biopsy, then chemo….all delivered with a few sentences, in less than 30 seconds. Life is changed.

On my way to the hospital, I was praying for Rich as I followed in the car. With a husband who’s been feeling sick for a long time, I was praying for healing, and for doctors to find what’s going on.

I heard in my spirit, “What’s about to happen, you won’t understand. It will make no sense. But keep your eyes on Me. Keep your eyes on (Jesus).

Susan

5 Responses to “Rich has a tumor”

  1. denise jones Says:

    praying.

    i know the comfort it has brought me when the Spirit has gone before me, just knowing that God’s mighty hand is on us.
    i pray for peace, truth, healing, mercy, and that God would show Himself to each of you, and be glorified in you.

  2. Peter Cavanaugh Says:

    Honey, what wonderful thoughts!

    You know we love you, Rich, and your blessed children very, very much.

    Love,

    “Poppa”

  3. Kathy Mohorter Says:

    Susan and Rich, Hi, Not sure you remember me, I’m your Dad’s cousin, from NY. You both will get through this journey because of your positive attitudes and belief in Jesus. I know Mody is stormin heaven on your behalf as so many other are now doing too! God’s blessings on both of you! love, Kathy

  4. Fred & Laura Imhoff Says:

    Dear Rich and Susan: Our hearts and prayers are with you, Dave called yesterday and we knew that we must pray for your family. Both
    of you have touched our lives as we have felt your strong relationship with Jesus and know that he is with you every step of the way. We will
    continue to pray that Rich’s pain will be eased and that the cancer will
    go away by the Lords holy hand.
    When we dealt with the stroke that suddenly changed everything for us last summer, I, Laura knew that I was going to be alright. I didn’t ask,
    “Why?” I just prayed and moved forward. God doesn’t do these things to us, it just happens because of the world we live in, but he helps us move forward, guides us, loves us and helps our bodies cure through
    positive love.
    I have also learned something through research that is just a suggestion
    that you may want to take on. Your diet is very important during healing and chemotherapy. Moving toward a more plant based diet with
    those amazing leafy green vegetables and away from animal products
    may be something that could help. I’m hesitant to bring this up now but I am passionate about this and feel it can heal the damage done in my brain from many asymptomatic strokes that showed on my MRI.
    Thank you so much for sharing your story with us. We feel so much better as we can see your positive approach and your love. We are
    sure the love of Jesus is with you and we will continue to pray.

    Love and Prayer, Fred and Laura

  5. Dennis Says:

    Rich and Susan, our thoughts and prayers are with you always. I know your faith will bring you through this test God has laid before you just as he did when my daughter was tested with her cancer. It took a long time but she is now cancer free and living a happy healthy life.
    Your prayers and our faith made this possible. Thank you for your support for me and my family as we went through this. God bless you and your family.

    Dennis

Leave a Reply

