Tuesday Update

Today I’m waiting for a call back from my GP regarding the results of an ultrasound they did of the tumor, my kidneys, and my right testicle. Hopefully they will help provide a roadmap to my treatment. Tomorrow afternoon is the first appointment with my Oncologist, and we’ll try to post what news we get as soon as we can, but it will likely be after 9 PM Pacific before we post anything.

Yesterday, we heard from the Urologist we talked to the first night when I was diagnosed in the ER. This is the doctor who said the tumor was “not good.” After seeing the initial biopsy results, he was optimistic, as it looked like it wasn’t the type of cancer he feared it might be. The initial biopsy showed lymphoma or seminola (a type of testicular cancer)…the cells are being further tested to determine the exact type of cancer. He said that both types generally respond well to treatment. We were so thankful he took the time to call us to offer his perspective.

Tonight the Elders of my church will be praying over me in accordance with James 5:14:

Is any one of you sick? He should call the elders of the church to pray over him and anoint him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up.

Last night in my bible reading, I came across 2 Corinthians 1:8-11, and I want to share what is says about prayer with you:

We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about the hardships we suffered in the province of Asia. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life. Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us, as you help us by your prayers. Then many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many.

I was struck by how Paul pointed out how those who were praying for him helped him in his hardships, and how in this time, I am being helped by those who are praying for me. And if Paul, a apostle of such great faith was helped by prayers, then how much do I also need prayers to endure the hardships ahead with hope and joy, and how God has been faithful in past, is in present, and will be in all our future trials.

Thank you for all your prayers, and may God’s blessing rest upon you always.

Rich Seiling

6 Responses to “Tuesday Update”

  1. JonPaul Avent Says:

    Your faith is of great encouragment. I wanted share a passage I thought of as read your note tonight:

    “Though the fig tree does not bud and there are not grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and not cattle in the stalls, YET I WILL REJOICE IN THE LORD I WILL BE JOYFUL IN GOD MY SAVIOR. THE SOVEREIGN LORD IS MY STRENGTH; HE MAKES MY FEET LIKE THE FEET OF A DEER, HE ENABLES ME TO GO ON THE HEIGHTS.” (Habakkuk 3:17-19).

    The commentator in my Bible says that this is one of the strongest manifestations of faith in all the Scriptures, and I believe it. Not that my own faith is anywhere close, but I see that faith in you, and pray that it might grow even more. I hope and pray that you would be able to go onto the heights many more times, and take some really cool pictures; I look forward to seeing them. Anyway, just sort of rambling on now, but just know that we praying for you and that God is using all of this for his Glory.

  2. Grace Says:

    Rich,

    Your thoughts bring home so sweetly the reality that we are all truly of one body. We are so blessed by your faith and your journey, and consider it a real privilege to lift you up in prayer. May God hold you tightly and may you continue to cling to Him and His perfect plan. Know that you are constantly on our hearts.

    In His Peace,
    Grace

  3. MOM and BRUCE Says:

    …..THUS SAITH THE LORD, THE GOD OF DAVID THY FATHER, I HAVE HEARD THY PRAYER, I HAVE SEEN THY TEARS, BEHOLD, I WILL HEAL THEE…2 KINGS 20:5 Praying today for your strength, and healing..for the wisdom of your doctor and guidance from the Great Healer …Love to the 4 xxxxoooo

  4. Nessa Says:

    Faith is not conjuring up, through an act of your own will, a
    sense of certainty that something is going to happen. No, it is
    recognizing God’s promise as an actual fact, believing it is
    true, rejoicing in the knowledge of that truth, and then simply
    resting because God said it.

    Faith turns a promise into a prophecy. A promise is contingent
    upon our cooperation, but when we exercise genuine faith in it,
    it becomes a prophecy. Then we can move ahead with certainty
    that it will come to pass, because “God…does not lie.”

    I often hear people praying for more faith, but when I listen
    carefully to them and get to the essence of their prayer, I
    realize it is not more faith they are wanting at all. What they
    are wanting is their faith to be changed to sight.

    Faith does not say, “I see this is good for me; therefore God
    must have sent it.” Instead, faith declares, “God sent it;
    therefore it must be good for me.”

    Faith, when walking through the dark with God, only asks Him to
    hold his hand more tightly.

    Streams in the Desert…May 1st…L.B. Cowman

  5. Tom H. Says:

    Rich,

    My family’s prayers are with you in this trying time, and my hopes are you will continue to receive more optimistic prognosis as your treatments become more detailed/thorough!!

    Your online friend from Fresno,

    Tom Hancock (thomsh3)

  6. Colleen Says:

    I am feeling very optimistic that you WILL beat this. We love you all, and are with you in spirit.

Leave a Reply

