Diagnosis: Slow-Growing Seminoma

Summary

– I have a slow- growing seminoma of testicular origin

– This type of cancer is highly responsive to chemo

– The reason there is a tumor near my kidney is that there is a lymph node there that drains my right testicle, which is the suspect point of origin, based on ultrasound. It is classified as Stage 3, since it is in my lymph node…and not simply contained in the testicle.

– I need to have my right testicle removed as chemo won’t work on testicles, and cancer can hide out there

– I need stent in my right ureter to open up my kidney flow BEFORE chemo

– 3 to 4 days after the surgery, when kidneys are functioning at needed levels, they can start chemo

– Chemo will start as soon as possible, 5 days in a row for first course, then once a week, then repeat as needed for about 16 weeks

– Chemo is going to kick my butt and make me feel miserable

– I won’t be hiking the Sierra this summer

Long Version

The conclusion from the biopsy is that I have a slow growing seminoma of testicular origin. One doctor said that if you could pick a kind of cancer, this is the kind you’d pick because there is such a high success rate with the treatment, and it was the first type of cancer they learned to treat successfully. There are no guarantees, but history shows it to be highly effective treatment.

They are going to run more CT scans and a bone scan to check for metastasis.

The next big milestone is getting the surgery as quickly as possible, so please pray for that.  Chemo can’t start till after surgery. They are trying to get me on the schedule ASAP.

During the 5 day initial chemo course, I won’t have energy to work. With the once-a-week treatment I may have some energy to work.  Since my job is mostly marketing to help bring in more work, pray that clients keep sending us tons of work. As long as there is work to do, my staff can do it with minimal input from me. It’s going to be strange not going to work, and learning how to work with less than full intensity, but I trust God will take care of me and my staff.

My trust is first in God to heal me of this, but I’m thankful that it’s a slow growing cancer that is very responsive to treatment. There probably couldn’t have been much better results today.

I’m not really looking forward to chemo, but I want to be healed, and I know that God will see me through it. I’m just going to take it one day at a time, and not worry too much about how difficult any day will be till I actually get there.

Pray that I get surgery right away, that it is successful, and that I can start chemo at the earliest possible date. We’ll keep you updated as we find out more. Today gave us the map, now we need to start the next journey and and make it to the milestones as quickly as possible.

Continue to pray for my complete healing.

Peace be with you,
Rich

9 Responses to “Diagnosis: Slow-Growing Seminoma”

  1. Beth Says:

    Rich–I am thinking of you here in Yellowstone. You’re one of the strongest people I know–you will win this one! I’ve been thinking of you and your family ever since I found out and I am sending a bunch of good thoughts your way. If I can do anything to help–even here in the wilds of MT/WY just let me know.

  2. denise jones Says:

    but you’ll be hiking the Sierra next summer.

    “So be strong and courageous, do not be discouraged, do not be terrified, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

    He’ll be with you through surgery, through chemo, through butt kickings, on the journey, and as you hike the Sierras next summer.

    praying.

  3. Cari Rumohr Says:

    Hey if you have any questions about the stint in your kidney give me a call and I’ll fill you in. I had one in for over a month last month when I had my kidney ordeal. Rejoicing (and continuing to pray) over the newest news. 😀

  4. erin girard Says:

    Hi guys! You know the story, five years ago, this is what Eric was diagnosed with and here he is almost five years in the clear. One year later, he was climbing 14ers in Colorado and as Denise said, next summer you will be back hiking! We are praying and yes, if you are going to get cancer, then this is one that is highly responsive. What is spooky is as Susan told me on the phone what was happening, I had this weird sense that this was the type of cancer you had.
    Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding and HE will make your path straight.
    You have the trust down, I know that, and He will be with you every step of the way. When you are feeling your butt getting kick, call Eric. Susan, you call me!
    We love you!

  5. thome family Says:

    YES!! There are so many people praying for you here in Alabama you may end up loosing some teeth and having an accent after all of this is through. I really wish you could have been here this a.m. when I was reading this to the kids. Such rejoicing! (and as far as Coop and Owen..rejoicing and faces full of joy shifting occassionally to looks of horror and amazement about the “removing the testicle” part. They didn’t know those might ever be potentially “removeable”) love you all!
    Laurie

  6. Nessa Says:

    I say Chemo-Shemo!! Just think instead of the chemo kicking your butt, you will be kicking this cancer’s butt!! Chemo affects everyone differently so like Denise said don’t be discourages from this. You’re strong and healthy, you’re gonna do fine. I’m happy to hear these results. This was the first thing I read this morning. I’m still praying, praying, and more praying….

  7. Melody Wachsmuth Says:

    Hey Rich and Susan,

    I stumbled across your blog and was taken aback at the recent news in your lives. Know that my prayer group down here at Fuller Seminary and I are keeping you in our prayers.

  8. Ruth Demers Says:

    Awesome news, Thanks for keeping us all so up-to-date on things, it really has helped to know how to pray and praise on your behalf! Love the encouraging comments as well, isn’t God so amazing how he brings to light stories and experiences from the body of Christ just when we need them to get us through our journey!

  9. Laurie Binnewis Says:

    Rich and Susan…Thank you for your openness…You are both an inspiration and an encouragement to us all…as we pray for you!!!

    Two of my favorite verses in tough times…Exodus 33:14 “The Lord replied, ‘My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” and 34:14 “…for He is a God who is passionate about His relationship with you.”

    May you rest in His all-consuming love as you endure this valley and climb to a healing victory in His name.

Leave a Reply

