The end of another week…

The last three days have been really good days. I’ve started to feel like myself at times, which is a nice change of pace!

But life goes by a whole new rhythm now, and I really have to pace myself, because I don’t have the energy I normally do, and there are always strange little side effects from all the chemo and meds I’m taking that need to be cared for. Only so much can get done in a day, so I don’t set ambitious plans…I have to take things one step at a time with first things always first, which is docs/meds/care. But it is nice to have at least a little feeling of being myself/having my brain back.

This week has also been about turning over worry and control to God, and just trusting Him. The first 3 weeks of this I constantly had the worry in the back of my head that I was going to die. But now that we have so much more info on how successfully this cancer can be treated, I’ve had to wipe out the stereotype of  generic “cancer” and replace it with the truth of my specific battle. I’m not worrying about dying any more, because that’s pointless, and the odds of being cured are so good. Instead, I’ve been leaning even more to let God show me the joy in each day, and take each day for the blessing it is, without worrying about tomorrow. Thinking too far ahead is one of the worst things I can do, and it robs me of peace, worrying about things that haven’t come to pass, and I can’t control anyway. God knows what is going to happen, and I can trust Him, so why worry?

Today was a good day, and was a lesson from how even the simplest things can be such a joy, from a coke slurpie on a hot day to enjoying a slice of supreme pizza at Costco with my wife (and having an appetite to eat it and enjoy it!), to just being outside the house and under a wonderful blue sky.

Given how I’m feeling, I’m pretty sure the chemo is shrinking the tumor, because pre-diagnosis, a day like to day would have left me very tired and in pain. But now I’ve been pain free since going off vicodin on Tuesday, and that alone is a major blessing. It’s really stunning that the chemo can shrink this type of tumor so fast. It’s still going to be a battle as it will put my body through a lot, but it’s nice to see some immediate victories.

Thanks for all your prayers and well wishes. I hope you have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend. We have no plans….just play with the kids and try and have a little fun, and maybe try and sneak in a hamburger, because it wouldn’t be a holiday weekend without one!

God bless!

Rich

3 Responses to “The end of another week…”

  1. MOM and BRUCE Says:

    Your name was again voiced aloud at Zoar Lutheran”s service tonight for your healing…We love the 4 very much…xxxxoooo

  2. Mary Pearson Says:

    I just wanted to pass on to you James 1: 1-8 and 12. It has really helped me in my journey. God Bless you and Susan, Allison, and Asher. We love you guys!

  3. K Mickel Says:

    Ron Iudice told me about you and I’m praying for you and your family.
    God is good; try to remember that when the going gets tough. Sharing about your cancer and your faith is the very best honor you can give to God right now.

Leave a Reply

