Day 16 of the first chemo cycle

Today is the last treatment of my first cycle. It’s a fairly quick injection, and that means it’s not a long day in Fresno. Last time, it made me feel pretty fatigued for the rest of the day, but I bounced back the day after. I hope it’s the same this time.

This has been a good week. Many of the more aggravating symptoms of the tumor seem  to be subsiding. My appetite is back, and I’m eating a near normal amount of food for the first time in almost two months. If you spent a little time with me, you’d probably think that I was totally healthy…but if you spent the whole day with me you’d see that I tire easily, and I really have to pace myself. It’s easy to over do it and wear myself out, so I really have to pace myself. Even talking for longer than 10 minutes leaves me feeling tired and needing to rest for a little bit.

One of the great things this week is that I went to work Tuesday and Wednesday. It was great to be at work with the people I’m used to seeing every day. I really love what I do, which is helping photographers by making beautiful prints of their work. Going to work has made life seem a little more normal, and made me feel like I have a purpose other than just sitting on the couch watching TV. I’m very thankful that my body allowed me to work these two days (and a little bit from home today.)

Today you can pray that I have minimal side effects from the treatment, and am able to bounce back and have a good weekend. We’re having Asher’s 3rd birthday party this weekend before I start the next chemo cycle, and I really want to be feeling good for that. (If you’re in Oakhurst, come by the community park on Sunday from 4 to 6PM…we’ll have pizza and cake! Let us know if you’re coming!)

My blood test for kidney function continue to improve, and that is a huge praise. It’s one less thing to be concerned about, and something that could hinder being able to get the chemo. My levels are at normal or better, so pray that they stay that way.

Next week I go into the grind of chemo every day for five days, which means feeling blah, possible nausea, and long days in Fresno with two hours in the car every day. You can start praying for strength for next week, and that the chemo works to remove the cancer from my body.

I’m really not looking forward to feeling more run down next week, and more side effects, but it’s a small price to pay. It makes me realize how much I took health for granted, and what a blessing it is to be able to get up and do whatever you want with a day. It’s helped me appreciate the gift of each day in a way I never did, and that is exciting because it is changing the way I live my life for the better.

Thanks for all your continued prayers.

Rich

Leave a Reply

