A few days of peace and rest

Tuesday night was the last night Rich took Neupogen. By Thursday, he was seeming more like himself…and by Friday, he seemed to be feeling much, much better. Today, he actually worked for a little bit, and was awake the whole day…quite an accomplishment! I looked up the side effects for Neupogen, and Rich experienced almost all that were listed, plus a few more…

He is now taking a heavy antibiotic, as a precaution, since his immune system is so compromised right now because of the Chemo. He realized that this antibiotic is making him feel nauseous and it sort of burns his esophagus. As a result, he still vomits at least once a day, but that’s less than he has been…and he feels better than he has in several weeks, despite these new side effects.

We feel like a little old couple as we analyze all of his aches, pains and random symptoms…

Rich asked that you please pray that his veins will hold up for the chemo, so they don’t have to put in a Pic line or a Mediport. One vein “blew out” on his hand, and cannot be used any longer…another one in his arm isn’t working well anymore for the IVs.

On Monday, we start the third session of Chemo…five days in Fresno, Monday through Friday.

Please pray that we all stay healthy…with kids in daycare, please pray for their protection from sicknesses, so they don’t bring them home to us. Pray for them and their little hearts, as we go through another long week of this.

Pray for Rich’s strength. This next week is going to be exhausting. The chemo is supposed to be harder to handle, with each session. Pray for Rich’s body to be prepared for this next battle.

If you’ve ever thought that prayers don’t matter…let me tell you, they do. Your prayers are so palpable right now, it’s amazing. They make the difference between despair and hope…rest and restlessness. It’s truly the best thing you can do for us right now.

I’ll end with the lyrics from one of my favorite songs by Watermark:

More Than You’ll Ever Know:

Something brought you to my mind today
I thought about the funny ways
you make me laugh
And yet I feel like it’s ok to cry with you
Something about just being with you
When I leave I feel like I’ve been with God
and that’s the way it ought to be, yeah

Cause you’ve been more than a friend to me
you fight off my enemies
cause you have spoken the truth over my life
And you’ll never know what it means to me
just to know you’ve been on your knees for me
Oh, you have blessed my life
more than you’ll ever know
Yeah, yeah, yeah, more than you’ll ever know
Yeah, yeah, yeah

You had faith
when I had none
You prayed God would bring me a brand new song
When I didn’t think I could find the strength to sing
and all the while I’ve been hoping that I’ll
do the kind of praying for you that you’ve done for me
and that’s the way it ought to be, yeah

You have carried me
You have taken upon a burden
that wasn’t your own, yeah
may that blessing return to you
A hundredfold…

4 Responses to “A few days of peace and rest”

  1. thome family Says:

    Hi! Just saying “God bless you” as you start on #3 tomorrow. Happy Father’s Day, too, Rich! I guess this will certainly be a memorable one…love you all-and praying and praying…

  2. Kathy Mohorter Says:

    I spent the weekend w/ Paul & cindy at 1,000 island for cousins weekend. talked w/ your Dad, susan, on the phone please know that everyday you are all prayed for. I marvel at your strength and yes, God will get you through this journey ! blessings , prayers & love, Cousin Kathy

  3. Patty Prowant Says:

    Dear Rich & Susan:
    You don’t know me but I’m a friend of your Mom & Bruce. I want you to know there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about you and say a prayer for you. You are truely an amazing family. I hope this will all soon be over and behind you so you can enjoy those beautiful children. When I am feeling down all I have to do is read your faith-filled words and I realize how lucky anyone that has their health is. May God continue to keep you safe through your journey.

  4. Beth and Mikie Says:

    love that song! thinking of you every day, and thankful for your blog. it keeps me centered in reality, knowing that my simple struggles, and your major ones, are all under the care and help of our god, our greatest friend, and the holy spirit, who prays alongside us, interceding our deepest groanings to our dad.
    love you guys-

Leave a Reply

