Next Challenge: Intestinal Disease

I need to ask for your prayers again. I didn’t have diverticulosis, and the pain hasn’t gone away.

I went to the ER on Tuesday after some blood showed when going to the bathroom. They gave me a CT scan that ruled out a lot of possibilities (they didn’t see any tumors), so they moved on to giving me a sigmoidoscopy today and it became immediately apparent that there is something going on in my large intestine. It was inflamed and there were obvious sores that were the source of the bleeding. It’s all throughout the area they examined. They didn’t have an immediate diagnosis, but they took three biopsies and we’ll have the results by Wednesday. They seemed to think that would give us an answer.  The tech said it didn’t look like cancer, but there are a whole bunch of other nasty chronic diseases it could be.

God is giving me the chance once again to choose to trust Him.  I don’t know where this path leads, but I know I can choose to hold His hand and He will see me through it.

As it stands now it hurts every time I eat even a small amount, and sometimes even when I don’t eat it hurts. I’ve lost over 15 pounds since the middle of December. That’s leaving me weak and with a pretty low quality of life. I’m really sick of the pain, and of not being able to participate in life.

Please pray that this would be treatable and that I would be healed of this swiftly. Pray that I would continue to choose to trust, and would not despair. Pray that this would bring Him glory, and that I would be obedient in this, so that I will do the work He has for me in this.

Thank you for your continued prayers throughout this long journey.

Rich

7 Responses to “Next Challenge: Intestinal Disease”

  1. julia Says:

    Hi Rich- I just wanted you to know that Tom and I just read your post and spent some time praying for you. Hang in there friend. Please let us know if you or Susan need anything (childcare, meals, etc…). For now, we’ll just keep praying for healing.

  2. Nessa Says:

    Praying Seiling Family…..

  3. Larry & Peggy Says:

    Dear Rich & Susan,

    We don’t know the why of things, but God know the reason He allows things in our lives. The journey can be so full of joy, pain, uncertainty and concern. I have leaned hard on Psalm 91 this past year. “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord He is my refuge and my fortress, my God in who I trust.”

    I love how you always point back to choice. Our lives can be turned upside down, but it is our own choice to go before the Lord and trust Him in everything, no matter what.

    So often the way is so uncertain and many times the sheer exhaustion of our trials are so heavy with care and concern for our future. I know for me, with Lyme Disease I can so easily let the pain and the brain fog confuse my thoughts with despair. I chose to lean on Him and He never fails me.

    I have learned that life is about giving up my own will to His perfect will and growing in the knowledge that He does have a plan for my life and I will reflect His purpose whether He heals me or not. I am fully aware that He has the power to heal me and give me grace and grow my faith if he does not.

    I like what you say in so many of your posts, to peruse His purpose and have a go-for-it attitude no matter which way life will go. A life after the Lord is a win win purpose with eternity in mind.

    In those long and waiting seasons waiting for the answers I chose the Praise Him In This Storm.

    Praise You in This Storm
    words by Mark Hall/music by Mark Hall and Bernie Herms

    I was sure by now, God, that You would have reached down
    and wiped our tears away,
    stepped in and saved the day.
    But once again, I say amen
    and it’s still raining
    as the thunder rolls
    I barely hear You whisper through the rain,
    “I’m with you”
    and as Your mercy falls
    I raise my hands and praise
    the God who gives and takes away.

    Chorus:
    And I’ll praise you in this storm
    and I will lift my hands
    for You are who You are
    no matter where I am
    and every tear I’ve cried
    You hold in your hand
    You never left my side
    and though my heart is torn
    I will praise You in this storm

    I remember when I stumbled in the wind
    You heard my cry to You
    and raised me up again
    my strength is almost gone how can I carry on
    if I can’t find You
    and as the thunder rolls
    I barely hear You whisper through the rain
    “I’m with you”
    and as Your mercy falls
    I raise my hands and praise
    the God who gives and takes away

    Chorus

    I lift my eyes onto the hills
    where does my help come from?
    My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth
    I lift my eyes onto the hills
    where does my help come from?
    My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth

    We are praying for you, for peace in this storm for renewed strength and hope.

    “God’s peace…is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will keep your thoughts and your hearts quiet and at rest as you trust in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:7 TLB

  4. Patty Prowant Says:

    Dear Rich:
    I am questioning why God is testing you like this? Can’t He see what kind of person you are & how you would do anything for Him? I can see that & I don’t even know you! Enough is enough…God, please show Rich a path through this new journey and help me understand why another test for Rich?
    Patty Prowant

  5. MOM and BRUCE Says:

    Our Love and prayers are constant. The devotion book Susan gave us in today’s reading referred to Psalm 139….and then listening to Christian radio.the sermon for the children today was the reading and explaining Psalm 139…Bruce and I read it at lunch. It softened our despair for you, and reminded us that He is behind us and before us..because He is in our hearts.and the 4 of you also..Praying for a pain free and peace-filled day for you…

  6. Diane Says:

    Read your update to Jeremy. We are praying for you and they whole family. what a bummer!

  7. Kathy Mohorter Says:

    The prayers are continual and will be! Your strength, even if there are times you don’t feel it, are an example to me and my trust in God’s plan. He and I are usually are not on the same page, but He is right!! love cousin Kathy

Leave a Reply

